top of page

Yvar Mikhashoff (1941–1993) beauftragte 127 der weltbesten Komponisten für ihn Tangos zu schreiben.

“I was always passionate about listening to tangos – it’s a very specific style of music and dance – and as a musician, you then always want to play that music yourself. I looked for tango compositions that had been originally written for the piano and in the process came across this collection. The pianist Yvar Mikhashoff had commissioned 127 composers to write tangos for him. Almost every conceivable style can be found in this collection. It was a thrilling experience to see how the composers interpreted the concept of the tango and shaped that concept into a musical work.’ Hanna Shybayeva


1 Biscardi, Chester Incitation to Desire (1984)

2 Pender, Scott Tango: Ms. Jackson Dances for the People (1986)

3 Nichifor, Şerban Tango for Yvar (1983) *

4 Wolpe, Stefan Tango (1927)

5 Rzewski, Frederic Steptangle (1999)

6 Fennelly, Brian Tangoblique (1984)

7 Aharonián, Coriún ¿Y Ahora? (1984)

8 Schimmel, William Fromage Dangereux (1984)

9 Nyman, Michael A Neat Slice of Tango (1984)

10 Hill, Jackson Tango No Tango (1985)

11 Mumford, Jeffrey Tango-Variations (1984)

12 Johnson, Tom Tango (1984)

13 Finch, Douglas Tango (1986) *

14 Babbitt, Milton It Takes Twelve to Tango (1984)

15 Berkman, Robert Thorn-Torn Lips (1984)

16 Vigeland, Nils Tango à deux (1983)

17 Nobre, Marlos Tango, Op. 61 (1984)

18 Piazzolla, Astor Libertango (arr. H. Shybayeva for piano) (1973) *

* World Première Recording

Hanna Shybayeva, Klavier

Label: Grand Piano, Vertrieb Naxos Bestellnummer: GP794 Veröffentlichung: 12. April 2019

bottom of page